EDA Announces $504 Million in Funding to 12 Designated Tech Hubs Across America

Today, the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) announced approximately $504 million in implementation grants to 12 Tech Hubs Designees to scale up the production and delivery of critical technologies, strengthen U.S. economic competitiveness and national security, and accelerate the growth of industries of the future in regions across the United States.

The 12 Tech Hubs slated to receive Phase 2 implementation funding were chosen from the initial 31 Designated Tech Hubs that President Biden announced in October 2023. 

EDA has selected projects for funding in each of the 12 Tech Hubs below, with award amounts to be finalized in the coming months.

Elevate Quantum Tech Hub (Colorado, New Mexico)
Headwaters Hub (Montana)
Heartland BioWorks (Indiana)
iFAB Tech Hub(Illinois)
Nevada Tech Hub(Nevada)
NY SMART I-Corridor Tech Hub (New York) 
ReGen Valley Tech Hub(New Hampshire) 
SC Nexus for Advanced Resilient Energy(South Carolina, Georgia)
South Florida ClimateReady Tech Hub (Florida) 
Sustainable Polymers Tech Hub(Ohio)  
Tulsa Hub for Equitable & Trustworthy Autonomy (Oklahoma) 
Wisconsin Biohealth Tech Hub (Wisconsin)  

This announcement marks the culmination of Phase 2 of the first iteration of the Tech Hubs Program, a flagship initiative aimed at advancing U.S. leadership in critical and emerging technologies and industries. Phase 1 of the program identified 31 Tech Hubs in geographically diverse, high-potential regions across the country with demonstrated expertise in emergent technology sectors.

The Tech Hubs Program was authorized by the bipartisan CHIPS and Science Act, a key part of President Biden’s Investing in America agenda, which he signed into law in August 2022. [Read today’s press release from the Biden-Harris Administration regarding this Tech Hub announcement.]